The Ten Commandments

Post photo: example image | © Pixabay

The Ten Commandments Martin Luthers Small Catechism. When it comes to counting the commandments, there are different traditions in Judaism and in the Christian churches. The version reproduced here follows the Lutheran and Roman Catholic tradition.

A different counting occurs where the prohibition of images - "Thou shalt make no graven image" - is listed as the second commandment, as in the Anglican, Reformed and Orthodox tradition. There, the “ninth” and “tenth” commandment are then understood as one commandment.

The First Commandment

I am the Lord your God. Thou shalt have no other gods before me. 

The second commandment

You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain. 

The Third Commandment

Thou shalt sanctify the holiday. 

The Fourth Commandment

You should honor your father and mother. 

The Fifth Commandment

You should not kill. 

The sixth commandment

Thou shalt not commit adultery. 

The seventh commandment

You shall not steal. 

The Eighth Commandment

You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor. 

The Ninth Commandment

You shall not covet your neighbor's house. 

The Tenth Commandment

You shall not covet your neighbor's wife, manservant, maidservant, cattle, or anything that your neighbor has.

#ten commands

"They broke all the commands. Can they have some more?"

Moses to God the day after
You can support this weblog on Patreon!

Post a Comment

Your email address will not be published.